Spiritual dictators

Spirituality is a strange concept, at times indefinable and I can now understand why people around me were concerned when I expressed some spiritual beliefs. They were afraid a crazy cult had put strange ideas into my head!

The spiritual dictators are those who make claims and assertions that define and judge others; I can see that they are the antithesis of spirituality. They can be dangerous telling you what to believe, that you are wrong about things when you need to figure them out for yourself or to tell you what you need to do when you should discover your own path.

I have always believed in freedom of thought and beliefs. That’s our free will and these may change overtime as we decide what works for us and what doesn’t. A truly spiritual person will encourage you on your path and let you find your own way, whether you stumble or take a direct route. Too many make claims they believe in, but maybe that’s their vision, but imposing it on others is not in the light of spirituality. Nor is it to judge what and how people choose to live.

Some profess to channel Archangels or Ascended Masters, that what they interpret is the truth and that they know more than anyone else and are correct. I would frown at such claims, because we all have our own guides and any message sent is for our own use. We are all vessels in our own way as we all have the ability to hear, but that frequency isn’t always tuned it. When people state facts about certain Angels or Ascended Masters, it triggers the skeptical alarm. I feel it gives them status to say a certain Angel has chosen them, but again the whole action is not what I believe spirituality to be about, not in my book anyhow.

I will always retain a healthy and skeptical vision of things, because not everyone will see things through my eyes and understand things from where I stand. I like to share my theories and ideas when asked, but they are just that, nothing concrete, but it’s what has been shown to me and how I interpret things. Some people can identify with things and for others it gives them food for thought. Many people in my life don’t believe in spiritual matters, but it doesn’t change how I feel about them and is not a prerequisite to my friendship.

Spiritual dictators seem to be on a mission to preach, but we all have a mission; to follow our own path and respect each other’s boundaries and to listen and learn about ourselves. We can share knowledge, experiences and theories, but never assume only you are right, because to be spiritual is to support and listen and through that we grow and learn in our own time.

Copyright © 2014 S.T. Alvyn. All Rights Reserved

One thought on “Spiritual dictators

  1. “A truly spiritual person will encourage you on your path and let you find your own way, whether you stumble or take a direct route.”

    Neale Donald Walsch said something to the effect that a TRUE Master is not one with the most followers, but the one who makes the most Masters. 🙂

    “I will always retain a healthy and skeptical vision of things, because not everyone will see things through my eyes and understand things from where I stand.”

    Good. Me too. Whenever I read channeled messages I always filter it through my own intuition and knowledge. If it doesn’t feel/sound important for me on my path at the time I ignore it. I figure it might be meant for someone else on a different path. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

