On the Yellow Brick Road

I’ve been on my yellow brick road for a while now, however, the Emerald City is still not yet in sight, though I did hear the chimes in the distance the other week. Unlike Dorothy, I haven’t got a scarecrow, tin man or lion to accompany me, but I have met people on the road that made me think about what is important, love and courage. Each have been challenged and reconsidered over the past year. As for the Good Witch, Glinda, I know someone watches over, but doesn’t intervene unless necessary because I know I still need to discover things for myself.

Honestly, it can be daunting knowing this, but once you are on the road, you can’t turn back and even if you could, where would it lead? You can’t go back, it’s not an option and you have to carry on despite any obstacles. Has the Wicked Witch of the West appeared? A few times already, so I expect a few more appearance before I get to the end of the yellow brick road. Like Dorothy, I must confront her and be brave and have the courage to do and say what is right.

Each of us is on our own journey, often we can’t see where we are going, but that’s okay because it’s the road we have chosen. We follow the road and along the way we meet people who help us and become friends. Others try to stop us or cause mischief and we overcome them with integrity and honesty. Above, we have help and guidance, but only when we need it as we have the answers, but cannot always see them. We can take a break, have a rest and time to reflect on where our journey is taking us.

The Emerald City is the next phase and I hope I am close, it sounds so peaceful, yet there will lie more truths and the answers I seek, maybe revealed to me. I can’t rush the journey as much as I would like to, because I believe the Emerald City is in view, but I’m not ready to see it just yet, but when I am, it will show itself to me. Then I know I at home, within myself. The yellow brick road is a symbol that we are on the road for the answers we seek to the unspoken questions we ask. As for the Ruby Red slippers, the power lies in what we believe and feel, not only what we see.

Copyright © 2014 S.T. Alvyn. All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

